Happy Sunday!

This is an open letter to any and everyone who may have questions regarding what I’m about to talk about. I hope you’ll read along with an open mind, and feel free to share any of your own past experiences, or thoughts that might come up for you while reading. So let’s get started!

I have given this a lot of thought and after several years of on and off vegetarianism, about a month ago I mentioned I had watched Vegucated, a documentary about vegans. Watching it, I was struck with just how serious the problems with animal raising, farming, and slaughterhouses are today. I felt compelled to make a change but I wasn’t sure if I could really commit to becoming a vegan.

Over the next few weeks, I made an effort to choose plant-based foods and move away from all non-vegan foods, such as honey and eggs. Luckily enough for me, I had already removed dairy in the forms of cheese, milk, and yogurt from my diet because I don’t digest them well and they make me break out. The more I became aware of what foods were and were not vegan, the more I knew I could make the final step and really become a vegan.

This afternoon, I finally watched Earthlings and I am now more certain than ever that I can not go back to eating animal products. The more I learned, the more apparent it became that the industry that manufactures these animal products treats the animals themselves as if they were already products, and not with any of the “humane” or “free-range” regulations that are supposedly upheld. One of the biggest eye-openers was seeing the largest Kosher cattle factory slaughtering cows using electrical prods, and ripping their trachii and throats out, while they were still alive…. All things that are NEVER supposed to be done in the kosher production of meat.

I will continue to research and learn more about veganism as I am beginning my journey into being a full-fledged vegan, but the wealth of information available both on the Internet and in books has increased so much in the past 10 years, I consider myself incredibly lucky to be able be making this transition at such an opportune time.

Other resources I’ve used included:
Kristy’s Blog, Keepin’ It Kind, here she shares her story of becoming and continuing her veganism.

Cadry’s Open Letter to a New Vegan and Misconceptions About Veganism

This Dish is Veg!’s 10 Most Common Vegan Myths

Books to consider:
The World Peace Diet, Food Revolution, and The China Study

Though I’ve been fairly selective about my food choices eating out for a while, tonight I had my first experience dining out as a vegan with friends who hadn’t dealt with it before, and I am so excited to say it went incredibly well! Everyone listened patiently and curiously as I explained my decisions, as well as my non-judgemental attitude towards my friends who do choose to continue eating animal products, and they were all incredibly supportive! The waitress at the restaurant we were dining at even made a point to write out the vegan options and possibly substitutions for all the vegetarian meals on the menu. I was so impressed with how knowledgable and willing to accommodate she was.

I know I will likely encounter many people who feel strongly opposed to my decision and many who will not be as understanding or accommodating in the future, but I truly believe what I am doing is the best choice for myself and for the animals who I see being played over and over in my mind.

I hope you had a great weekend!!

Love,
Happiness Starts Here

Going vegan

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

