Tis the season

Today I’m happy about: fueling my obsession with Lululemon with a new scuba hoodie purchase! My body is still trying to adjust to this east coast weather and I am SO grateful for all my coats. I can’t imagine what it’ll be like when every single day of winter doesn’t get to above 20 degrees…
But right now, I am continuing to love the chill in the air because it feels like the holidays are just around the corner.

20131027-164553.jpg

As I was sipping my tea this afternoon, I enjoyed the message that came with my cup; “Be yourself.” This is something I struggled with a lot during my undergrad and after starting to open up to my therapist about everything that’s going on in my head more recently, I realize that I wasn’t being myself. I have so many things I am passionate about in my life, and such a great support system, but for a long time I started to lose track of what made me, me. But as I am starting to be more and more myself, I am letting go of the rules and thoughts that I used to use to make me feel “in control.” And I couldn’t be happier! Who really needs to be in control 110% of the time? Does it really make you happier? Or more secure? I found that it limited me and made me feel like I was living in a very safe box, but a box all the same.
Now I am throwing away that box and saying yes to all the exciting new opportunities that are being opened up to me, now that I am allowing myself to see them.

I’ve heard a lot of jokes about Boston being hard on people in the winter and sending students either to drink or get hopped up on drugs, but I for one think this might be my best winter yet!

Is anyone else ridiculously excited for Thanksgiving and Christmas?

Love,
Happiness Starts Here

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

