Turnaround

Today I’m happy about: going for a great 5+ mile run this morning instead of staying home thinking about it. I am so thankful for my mom’s gentle pushing to get out there for even 10 minutes. What started out as a low and even depressed morning was turned around the second my feet hit the pavement. A few minutes into my run I knew I wasn’t going to stop after 10 and turn around- I wanted and needed to push myself out of my comfort zone. Although I didn’t hit the weights as I had originally planned, I did what I needed in this moment, for this day.

After an energizing start to the day, I was able to be more open to everything that came at me throughout the day. The good- hearing from a cute boy, lunch with my mom, and the not-so-great- a slow day at work. But none of it has been able to get me down. I am in a place of patience and generosity of spirit- I want to give myself to others and be open to receiving from them as well.

How do you feel about rest days from working out? I definitely try to schedule them in at least once a week, but sometimes I want the endorphins too badly.

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite running quotes:
“Our running shoes have magic in them- the power to transform a bad day into a good day; frustration into speed; self-doubt into confidence; chocolate cake into muscle.” – Mina Samuels

Love,
Happiness Starts Here

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

